HUBO Productions

Raw Artistry Exposed


Independent band Jeepney Joyride’s “AYOKO NA SA IYO” (I Don’t Want You Anymore) music video is nominated for Best Music Video in Castpel Music Media Awards 2012. The video was directed and conceived by young cinematographer Gian Caluag.  The quirky video which showcases the band’s “ska” brass music style also features  actors Empoy Marquez, Steph Lim, Ramon Bautista, Karla Vizvarra and Karen “Dylan” Vizcarra.  Lead singer Norman Bernardo‘s personality and vocals complete the catchy tune.

HUBO Productions’ resident director Will Fredo shares, “we are proud to have been part of supporting young artists like Gian Caluag. Championing efforts such as this, a well conceived and well thought out music video, is something in our mission.  Plus, the video actually has that tongue-in-cheek Filipino humor. I love it! I’m happy for the band. Getting nominated is already wonderful given there are so many music videos coming out every year in Manila.”

“We’ve recognized the power of independent bands before by showcasing them in the soundtrack of our movie SA PAGDAPO NG MARIPOSA. We actually have done some mini-tours all over Manila to promote the movie and the bands (learn more about Brave New Music ).  We know that there’s so much music talent in the Philippines and we’re honored to have worked with some good indie ones,” Gregory Macaraeg, HUBO Productions’ president added.

Castpel Music Media Awards, like HUBO Productions, aims to support and promote independent artists.  According to their organization’s website,

“The Castpel Music Media Awards is the brainchild of Captivemedia Corp.  Its aim is to recognize a band’s accomplishment in the creation and promotion of music using a digital medium. With the accessibility of software and music technology for end-users, the local independent music industry is burgeoning. Our belief is to filter the most talented independent bands and validate their excellence with an award. It may get them signed by a large recording label. It may give them fame and fortune. But most important, it will inspire them and others to push the envelope and create great music.”

Now that the nominees have been announced, there’s a voting process that would help Castpel narrow down the list from each category to 10.  The 1st Castpel Music Media Awards 2012 will be announced July 7, 2012 at a big concert celebration in Manila.

Here’s the link to VOTE  for your favorite music video and other categories.  And please vote for Jeepney Joyride’s AYOKO NA SA IYO.

Jeepney Joyride Fan Page: